“Empire Of The Dead” #5 : George Romero’s Grand Chessboard Finally Comes Into Focus

Posted: June 23, 2014 in Uncategorized

I take a look at issue #5 of George Romero’s “Empire Of The Dead” for Through The Shattered Lens website.

Through the Shattered Lens

3898437-05

If it seems like it’s been awhile since we looked at a new issue of Empire Of The Dead around these parts, that’s because it has — the fifth and final segment of the first arc in George Romero’s printed-page zombie epic (officially titled in the copyright indicia as George Romero’s Empire Of The Dead Act One #5) is a good few weeks late in maintaining its purportedly monthly schedule, but now that it’s finally here, let’s not waste any more time, shall we?

I’ve remarked previously about how this first arc seems more and more like pure set-up the longer it goes on, and I’ve wondered aloud about just how the father of the modern zombie genre was going to bring all the disparate subplots he was working on together in time for at least something resembling a decent climax by the time this issue was over, but I…

View original post 797 more words

Comments
  1. I haven’t read any since the 2nd. With Walking Dead, 24: Underground and my film buying a few things gotta get cut out this was one of the victims of that, I’ll get back to it at some point.

    • trashfilmguru (Ryan C.) says:

      Just pick up the trade when you’ve got a few bucks to spare, I’m sure it’ll be out soon.

  2. Victor De Leon says:

    damn. I’m behind. only up to ish number 2. hope to get caught up soon. thanks!

    • trashfilmguru (Ryan C.) says:

      A lot of people gave up after issue 2 and I can’t blame them, but it really has improved a lot since then.

      • Victor De Leon says:

        Cool. I do have them lined up. Glad I picked them up, then.

      • trashfilmguru (Ryan C.) says:

        By the time you read up through issue five, you’ll be glad to you did and ready for more.

Leave a Reply

