Trash Film Guru Vs. The Summer Blockbusters : “Hercules”

Posted: July 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

I take a look at the new “Hercules” for Through The Shattered Lens website.

Through the Shattered Lens

hercules-rock-poster1

It’s been a weird week at the movies for yours truly, my friends : first off, I went to the theater three times this week, which almost never happens anymore (what do you think I am, rich?), and secondly, while I enjoyed The Purge : Anarchy about as much as I expected to (which is to say quite a bit), the other two flicks I saw both took me by surprise for different reasons : I was far less impressed with Richard Linklater’s much-celebrated Boyhood than I expected to be, and I ended up liking Brett Ratner’s new take on Hercules waaaaaayyyy more than I figured I was going to.

Though not because of anything Ratner himself did. But we’ll get to all that in a minute.

Full disclosure : I only went to see Hercules because my dad wanted to check it out. He’s a sucker for this kind…

View original post 1,321 more words

Leave a Reply

